Finding a Gem / Where are Their Priorities?

If there’s one thing I love about thrift stores, it’s the excitement of the hunt – searching for that hidden treasure that is hidden around a store that is basically filled with junk (to put it nicely).  Much to my surprise, I found Flannery O’Connor’s complete works for only $2.99 while scanning the bookshelves.  Needless to say, I didn’t give it a second thought and quickly snatched it up.

I was in a bookstore the other day here in the Seattle area, and I must confess that I felt slightly saddened by something that I saw in the section with collectible books: I saw a first edition Umberto Eco book, signed by the author for $100.00 (this is not sad news, I can assure you!) What is sad, however, is that nearby was a first edition copy of Twlight going for $400.00!  And the book wasn’t even signed! /    Even in the literary world we succumb to popularity and fame, I guess…  How is it that something so brilliant by such a brilliant mind as Eco’s is eclipsed in price by some teeny-bopper trash novel?  What the…?!?!?!

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

