The Start of a New Journey

When inspiration strikes, I need to learn to embrace it and see where it takes me.  I think far too often I have been inspired to do something but end up not following through on that motivation because I believe that I’m not good enough to do it, or that somebody else can do “it” better than I can, so why should I even bother?

I’ve used that excuse far too often in my life and I hope to begin a journey that will help me end that cycle.

I began writing a new short story today and so far I like where it’s taking me.  I have to give a big “Thank You” to a friend of mine for sparking my imagination and starting me down the path that this story originated from.

Here is a snippet of what I have so far:

If you want to make your dreams come true, the first thing you have to do is wake up.  ~J.M. Power

The dream began in nineteen-thirty-five at the ripe young age of ten. Jack Russell, named after the breed of dog because his momma was just that kind of woman, decided that he would visit each and every state in the “yew-nited” states of America and enjoy a bowl of ice cream in whatever cafe or roadside diner he would first happen upon in his journey in that particular state.  This goal started auspiciously one afternoon as Jack was enjoying a bowl of homemade vanilla ice cream his momma and sister had made earlier that day topped with fresh strawberries that he had picked himself just hours before.

Momma”, Jack said, scooping up another huge spoonful of ice cream and strawberries, getting ready to shove it in his mouth, “I’m gonna visit every state in our great nation and have a bowl of ice cream.”

Oh are you know?” Jack’s mom replied, grinning at her small boy as he shoved another bite which was much too big for him into his mouth. “What got you thinkin’ that way for?”…

traveling mercies,
jdh

Currently listening to: The Queen is Dead by The Smiths

One thought on “The Start of a New Journey

Leave a Reply

