Displays of Patriotism

I’ve always been a big fan of fireworks even though I’ve never been a big fan of spending money on them.  Solution?  I grabbed my lawn chair and walked about a quarter of a mile down the road to where there was a mass army of folks who had purchased every firework in existence, launching them with reckless abandon as if they were protecting the western shores of the United States from a foreign invader and the start of World War III.

It was one of those moments where I couldn’t help but smile and be thankful for life.  “This is what it’s about”, I thought to myself, grinning from ear to ear as mortars were launched high in to the night sky where they would explode in an array of bright colors, filling the night sky with colorful displays of light if only for a few seconds.

Happy 234th birthday, America.  God bless you.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

