My Favorite Quote of All Time

What is my favorite quote? Is it OK if I have two? Of course it is – this is my blog after all and I can make the rules here.

My two favorite quotes I have written on post-it notes that are affixed to my computer at work:

“My riches consist not in the extent of my possessions, but in the fewness of my wants.” – J. Brotherton

This gem was passed on to me from a good friend at my workplace. I don’t remember exactly the context with which I first heard this quote, but it is simply one of my favorites because it reminds me that riches do not lie in “stuff” but in truly being happy with where you are, right now.

I’ve found that personally, the more stuff I have, the more I worry about the stuff I have. With fewer possessions, life somehow manages to become more simple.

—–

“Three things in human life are important. The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. And the third is to be kind.” – Henry James

Yes. I’m slightly ashamed to admit that the first time I ever heard this quote was on a popular network television show a few years ago. Really, I wish that I had discovered it in James’ writings than on a nine o’clock show.

We are each on our own journey – we’re not all in the same place in life. It is my job to be as kind as possible to each person I meet. Kindness goes further than we expect and touches lives in ways we cannot imagine.

Traveling mercies,

jdh

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Quote of All Time

Leave a Reply

