Quiet[er] Thoughts

There is something about being awake a little earlier than you normally find yourself, almost as if you wake up to discover a world a little bit different than what you are used to.

Living near the corner of a busy intersection that is considerably much more quiet is the first sign that something is different: People are just starting to wake up, while their cars are still resting in their parking spaces or their garages.  There is the occasional sound of a driver passing by  – one of the “early bird gets the worm” types that enjoy starting and finishing their day early.

Even my cat, who was hyper the night before, is calm this morning.  She sits on the windowsill and looks curiously out at the tree branches gently swaying in the breeze.  She occasionally looks up at me and says a quiet “Meow” as if to say, “Hey, look at this!”

Today is a new day.  A new chapter.  A fresh start.

I’m thankful for today.  Yesterday,while difficult, is over.  Today is another part of the life-story, just waiting to be written and shared with the other characters I’m blessed to share my day with. (“Characters” said with the highest regard).

I feel a change coming in my life, and while I’m not quite ready to say what this change will be, my spirit is getting a bit restless, like a nomad who can sense the change in seasons.  I’m looking forward to the unknown, even if I am a little bit scared…

Traveling mercies,
jdh

One thought on “Quiet[er] Thoughts

Leave a Reply

