The Truth

Today, I am frightened.  I have no idea what I’m doing, where I’m going.  If I would have known when I was younger that much of adulthood was ad-libbed, I don’t think I would have been in as big of a hurry to “grow-up”.

I feel like the only thirty-something year old who has no idea what he wants to do with his life.  Intellectually, I know that this isn’t true – I know that there are others in the same boat as I find myself – it’s just that more times than not I feel like I’m the only one struggling against these currents of uncertainty.

I’ve been talking to my lovely, close friends, and my counselor – all of whom suggest i just get out there and try – try whatever strikes my fancy, not worrying about the possibility of failure.

I talk about and think about doing things more often than I actually do them.

Am I the only one who struggles with this?  What do you do to overcome those moments of uncertainty, those moments where you question yourself?

Traveling mercies,
jdh

 

2 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. You certainly arent the only one, for what its worth….Im 38 and still dont really know ….I am happy in some of my things I do and certain things but , I know its not quite right and Im still searching in a way for my true path as well…It is not easy , and I appreciate your post because I really can relate.Dont stop searching, I guess we all just know when its right. Theres no right way or wrong way though…..remember to live along the way while your searching for your life…and always remember, sometimes ….”someday” never comes. So I guess we should try to live as much as we can in the moment. This moment right now.Wishing your worried/anxious soul some peace…(and mine too)CK

Leave a Reply

