Thoughts on a Scripture

One of the things I’ve found myself struggling with more than anything as I get older is worry.  I worry about my health, about my home, about my relationship with my Lovely.  I worry that the test results I took during a recent doctor’s visit will come back unfavorable, that the electrical issues that cropped up earlier this year in my home will come back to haunt me, and I worry that I’m not doing near as good of job as I should be doing at loving my spouse.

I’ve allowed worry to control my life to a point that it cripples me, and on occasion, makes me feel sick to my stomach.

Lately, I’ve found myself calling out to Jesus during these moments of worry – something as simple as calling out his name a few times and admitting my weakness and asking for his help.  Other times, I find myself slowly putting in to words what it is that I am worrying about and verbally give it over to God, admitting that I can’t do this (whatever “this” is) on my own and that I need his help to make it through.

A verse of scripture that has been running through my mind lately is Exodus 14:14 which reads, “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

I’m no Bible scholar like many of my friends, but I believe that I can say with some level of layman’s authority that this verse comes at a time when the Israelites are scared for their lives:  Pharaoh’s army was chasing after them as they were fleeing from Egypt.  They found themselves trapped against the shores of the sea, the army fast approaching.

Thankfully, I’ve never found myself up against hundreds of soldiers looking to bring me back in to slavery or kill me, but just because my worry may not be as (for lack of better words) big as what the Israelites were facing, the verse still holds true: I needn’t worry, God will fight for me.

That’s comforting to know.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

