Walking, Writing

With the nicer weather we’ve been having lately, I’ve taken to getting in my daily exercise by walking the streets in and around downtown Seattle.  I have one rule: each day I have to go a different direction.

Last week, I ended up walking a few miles down to the stadiums south of town where I hopped on the light rail and rode it south about halfway down the line.  I’d be lying if I said that there wasn’t a small part of me that flirted with the idea of just taking the train all the way to the airport and hopping on the next available flight to who-knows-where [that’s one of my dreams].

The other day, I walked to Pike Place Market, taking in the sights and sounds, bright colors and busy people.  It’s one of my favorite places to go when I don’t have to go there for someone else, when I can just go because I want to go and people watch.  It’s a beautiful location to visit if you haven’t been – well worth spending some time at if you find yourself in Seattle and have some time to kill.

Today I did a zig-zag trip around the city, allowing the traffic lights to guide me as to which direction I would go next.  I do this exercise when I’m not in a hurry, not in a need to get somewhere fast.  I allow myself the opportunity to wait no more than a few seconds at each intersection before turning to head one direction or another.  It’s a fun way to see parts of the city that I normally don’t wander in to of my own free will, plus it allows me the opportunity to discover new shops to browse and restaurants to try.

I need to start planning on what I’d like to write for NaNoWriMo this year.  Last year, I flew by the seat of my pants and wrote my first novel, Becoming John Doe in just under the allotted thirty day time limit.  While I was happy with the end result seeing as how I didn’t do any kind of story layout, I know that I can do better if I plan accordingly.

I’ve never been a big fan of my fiction writing capabilities, but this annual project certainly stretches my abilities if nothing else.  Perhaps some day if I’m brave enough, I’ll allow one of these novels to be read.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

