Photos, Travels, and Football

I’d like to get in the habit of carrying a camera with me wherever I go.  I like the idea of always being able to take photographic evidence of my travels no matter where life find me.  A picture is worth a thousand words, after all.

Problem is, neither of the cameras we (Lovely and I) own are able to be carried easily.  I’d like to get a little point and shoot camera that will fit in my pocket.  I might have to start looking out for a good deal online or at a local store. (Suggestions for cameras would be appreciated!)

Lovely and I finally decided to take a vacation – if all goes according to plan, we’ll have our credit card completely paid off by the end of the year, so we’re starting to plan and save up for a vacation (and no, we’re not paying for it with our credit – that would be counterintuitive, after all!).

April 2011 we’re going to New Mexico.  Why?  Because we’ve never been, the prices to travel there are cheap, and Weird Al had a great time in Albuquerque.

I’m looking forward to taking in the sights and sounds, hopefully doing a bit of hiking and exploring the Carlsbad Caverns that I’ve heard so much about.  If you’ve been to New Mexico and know of some places we should check out while there, let me know.  I’m open to suggestions.

Tonight, I’m going down to Starfire Sports to catch the US Open Cup Semi-Finals between the Sounders FC and Chivas USA.  Should be a great match.  I enjoy watching soccer in an intimate venue, and Starfire is one of stadiums.  You’re so close to the pitch that you can hear the players on the field and the coaches on the bench, and it’s easier to give the officials a hard time when they make bad calls. (*grin*)  Plus, I’ll be attending with two good friends – sounds like a great night to me.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

