Counseling & Quiet Music, Played Loud

One of my all time favorite bands often says that “Quiet music should be played loud”.

I couldn’t agree more.

As I’m writing this, I’m enjoying a cup of coffee (little bit of cream, some sugar in the raw) and Over the Rhine’s Drunkard’s Prayer is turned up on my iPod, high volume.

Two things right with the world: good music and caffeine.

“You’re my water, you’re my wine, you’re my whiskey from time to time…”

Tuesday night was my final counseling session with my counselor (at least for now).  I felt that I had reached a point where I  needed to step back and try things out on my own.  I’m going to miss him because I felt that we made a connection that was helpful for the both of us.

He’s the kind of guy that I wouldn’t mind going out for a beer with.  Plus, saving money by not having a copay would be helpful too.

Going to counseling was a great decision, one that I am thankful for.  I never knew that for someone who I felt had few issues (me) sure had a lot of issues that needed to be talked about and worked through.

When the session ended, we didn’t say “goodbye”, but “so long, for now”.

There’s a big part of me that hates goodbyes.  There is something so final about them.

He said I could come back next week, next month, or even five years from now.

The bridge only needs to be crossed, it doesn’t need to be burned after the fact.  (Funny how we so often forget that in so many areas of life).

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

