Three Songs I Love

These are three songs that have stuck with me, have been with me for the long-haul.

It was difficult to narrow this down to just three songs, but I think these three songs fit best if I had to choose.

Latter Days by Over the Rhine

One of my favorite albums of all time by one of my favorite bands of all time. They speak the words that I couldn’t find on my own and yet make me feel as though they were within me all along.

"There is a me you would not recognize, dear.

Call it the shadow of myself.

And if the music starts before I get there

dance without me.

You dance so gracefully.

I really think I’ll be o.k.

They’ve taken their toll these latter days."

If you’ve never heard this album, stop what you’re doing and buy it – now. You won’t regret it.

Festival by Sigur Ros

One of my favorite quotes from a movie happens in The Shawshank Redemption when the protagonist, Red, narrates, "I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I don’t want to know. Some things are best left unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so beautiful, it can’t be expressed in words, and makes your heart ache because of it."

While this isn’t two Italian ladies singing, it is four Icelandic men singing a song I can’t begin to understand. But like Red, I feel like they are singing about something so beautiful that words cannot begin to express.

My heart aches every time I hear this song.

Brave by The Innocence Mission

What isn’t to love about this album, these songs? I was turned on to this band at a time when I was searching for music that would change my life, and this lovely album delivered – in a big way.

"And I always go to pieces.

And I have it in my mind

that the sky is tall and heavy,

when I could be brave, brave"

Their lyrics will stick with you in good times and in bad. They’re that good.

Powered by Plinky

One thought on “Three Songs I Love

  1. Adore. Especially the Sigur Ros– I’ve been a fan since my freshman year of high school, and yet I think that album is my favorite. It’s a pretty good driving album, too, particularly for driving in the mountains…

Leave a Reply

