Thursday Thoughts

Pablo Picasso 1962

Image via Wikipedia

I’m taking a day off today from work, and by the look of the sunshine outside of my window, I’m glad I did.

My cat is lounging gloriously on the windowsill – I think she’s on to something there, soaking up the sun’s rays.

I wish that writing were easy for me.  I get caught up in reading some of my favorite authors, thinking to myself, “Man, this is good stuff – why can’t I write like this?  Why does the stuff that I write feel like something pulled out of the recycling bin that was not long before purchased at a second hand store?” (OK, so maybe that’s a small exaggeration, but it’s how I’ve been feeling lately).

My biggest “excuse” about not writing is that “I don’t have enough time”.  Funny thing is, is I sure do find time to read news articles online as well as make sure the games that I’m playing on social networking sites (Read: Facebook) are attended to because, after all, I wouldn’t want my farm to go to waste.  I can think of a million and one excuses as to why I can’t write, yet I can’t see the time that I have that I actually should be writing, even if it’s not up to the quality I dream of.

I tell Lovely all the time that it’s important to me that she creates her art first for herself and then if possible, other people.  “Don’t do something because you want to make money on it – do it for you first, whether or not you ever make a dime”, I tell her.  Funny, I think I need to take my own words to heart more often.

I’ve got a busy fall season coming up.  One that I am actually looking forward to despite how much that surprises me.  NaNoWriMo starts November 1st, and I’ve been tossing a few ideas around my mind about what kind of story I’d like to tell.  I’ve got an idea that I’m slowly working on that I may try to get down on paper during that month.

There is also a Picasso exhibit coming to the city that I would like to check out.  I’m such a sucker for art, and Picasso is easily on my top-5 list of artists I’ve always enjoyed.  I’m excited about the opportunity to check out some of his work in person (and more than likely purchase a few trinkets from the gift shop after the exhibit).

I’ve also been challenged to write a short story (no more than five pages) by the end of the month.  Five pages?  For me, that’s a challenge – specifically keeping a story that short.  I’ve got some ideas that I’d like to start, so I guess my next step would be to actually sit down and start writing it – it’s not like I have to worry about anything being perfect about it, anyway.

Family is coming over tonight to spend the night, and the next night a different part of the family is coming over to spend a few days.  Sheets have been washed, towels folded and ready, and I’ve told the cat to be on her best behavior (but she’s almost always an angel, anyway.  If you haven’t met her, you’re missing out).

There is so much more I want to write about, if for no other reason than to get the words out there on their own, I need to write again soon.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

