Thoughts About Travels, Writing, Life…

Downtown Spokane, Washington, as viewed from P...

Image via Wikipedia

I’m heading home to Spokane this weekend for a whirlwind trip to see my family.  Leaving tonight after work, coming back home Sunday morning (after hopefully sleeping in a little bit!)  I’ve not told many friends because I always feel a bit stressed to try to fit in as many of them as possible, that I inadvertently forget to tell someone I’m in town and want to hang out with them.

I think I may have to take another week off and just go home to hang out with all of my friends who I can’t see on such a short trip.  I did that a few years ago, and had a great time catching up with everyone – I didn’t feel rushed or hurried which was nice.  Last thing I want is to feel stressed at home.  Does that make me a bad person?

Saturday afternoon I’m attending a college football game with my dad and uncle – I’m looking forward to hanging out with both of them.  Plus, I can pay off my debt to my dad (I made a bet with him on a different sporting event and lost, hotdogs and sodas are now on me).  Saturday evening, I’ll be spending time with family eating pizza (yummy!) and having a dual me/sister birthday party (my sister’s birthday was on the 14th, mine is on the 27th).  Should be a good time to hang out with family and celebrate – looking forward to that.

This last Sunday I started my journey to complete my daily pages – writing three pages a day about anything – I found a great site, 750words.com that will track your words, speed of writing, and overall tone (or “mood”, if you will) of what you’ve written for that day.

It’s a pretty neat site, and I can’t recommend it enough, especially if you’re wanting to write either for a living or just to improve your own skills.

With NaNoWriMo starting up in less than two weeks, I’m formulating more specifics for the novel I will be writing next month.  I’ve had an idea in my mind for a while now that I would like to run with, now it’s just a matter of figuring out names for the characters, things they struggle with (what makes them human) and more detail about the settings they will be living in.  I hope to have a synopsis posted online by the 27th (that’s my goal at least).

I’ve already promised someone that I would allow them to read the unedited version – might grant others permission as well, depending on how I feel about the end result.

I have eleven friends who are also signed up to write a 50,000 word novel in November – join us – you’ll be glad you did.

I’ve got some thoughts about friendship that have been stewing in my mind for the better part of this week – hopefully I can get my thoughts out on paper (or blog, as it were) soon…

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

