Thoughts on a Dream

couple hugging

Image by eigi via Flickr

The sky is overcast and gray.  It’s forty five degrees outside right now according to my computer, and it’s supposed to rain today.  I open the window to let the cool morning air invade my room.  It smells so clean, so pure.  I wish I could bottle it up and save it for days when I need weather like this.

NaNoWriMo starts in less than forty eight hours, and I’m excited.  Unlike last year where I flew by the seat of my pants, writing my word count each day unsure of where the story was going, this year I have direction.  I have a few characters who’ve invited me to share a part of their story and to see where those stories take them.

I’m hoping to get to a write-in at some point at either a coffee shop or a local library.  It would be nice to meet others who have decided to take this journey in writing a novel in the month of November.

I had a strange dream last night about two people (man and woman) meeting for the first time.  It was in a large building or home (almost like a college dorm?) and there was chaos all around them in all of the rooms of the building, yet these two individuals who had never met up until that point were somehow drawn to one another in a magical way.

They stopped short of each other, making eye contact the whole way, becoming lost in the other’s gaze.  They knew that they wanted to hug each other, but they didn’t quite know why – it’s not often you hug someone upon your first meeting, after all.

The next few moments were spent discussing how this hug should happen.  Should it be a friendly pat on the back, a side hug like you’d give a friend who you don’t want to give the wrong idea, or a full embrace, each feeling what it was like to hold the other in their arms for but a moment.

My dream changed at that moment (just as they were still discussing how they were going to hug) but I’d like to think that the two threw caution to the wind and hugged one other as though they had known each other for years and were just meeting again for the first time after a long time spent apart.

At least, that’s how I’d like to think it happened.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

