Lending a Helping Hand

Food Bank

Image by Steve Rhode via Flickr

I was asked this year to head up my company’s annual food drive, where we partner with Northwest Harvest to collect nonperishable food, baby and pet items to help those in need in the greater Seattle area.

My company has been partnering with them for a number of years now, but this is the first year that I’ve been made in charge of facilitating their efforts to my office.

I’m excited about the opportunity to serve in this practical way, helping folks (and fur-friends!) who could use an extra hand during these months.

If you’re in the Seattle area and want to donate, let me know – I can help facilitate your donation to this fantastic cause.  If you’re not in the Seattle area, I would encourage you to make a donation wherever you can, be it a local food bank, church, or to a neighbor who you know is struggling to make ends meet.

Whatever you do, find a practical way to serve somebody who would not be able to pay you back.  I guarantee the encouragement you receive while doing a random act of kindness will be abundantly more than you would ever expect.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

