Thoughts Over Breakfast

Oatmeal directly from the packing.

Image via Wikipedia

For the past as long as I can remember, I have oatmeal for breakfast every work day.  I’ll buy one of those boxes of plain oats that can feed an army and keep it under my desk at work.  Occasionally, I’ll add fresh fruit to the oats, but lately it has been brown sugar more than anything because, let’s face it, it’s easier to sprinkle a little bit of sugar on top than it is to cut up fresh fruit.

It’s easily the easiest meal of the day for me to eat healthily, other than lunch, that is.

Come dinner, all bets are off.

Take last night, for example: I needed to pick up my sister at the airport as she’ll be in town for a few days for some medical appointments.  On our way to the place where she would be staying, we stopped off at one of those all-you-can-eat buffets to get some salads (that sounded mighty nice, thank you).

I proceeded to get my salad, oh yes, and also two plates of carb-laden food.  Oh did it taste good.  So good.  I should have stopped at the one plate, but how can you stop at just one?  I had two pieces of bread, and then some more… ugh.

They say that the way to a man’s heart it through his stomach.  If that’s the case, the highway to my heart is paved with carbs.  Breads, pastries, pastas, oh my…  It all tasted so good going down, but later I paid for it with an upset stomach.

How do you work at eating healthy and responsible at each meal?  What tricks have you picked up along the way?

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

