going with it

New year - which direction?

Image by randihausken via Flickr

i’ve been silent on this blog lately, but that doesn’t mean that i haven’t been living, soaking up the little things of life.

i love vacations that lead to your forgetting what day of the week it is – that happened to me on more than one occasion while i was away – and it was wonderful.  sometimes, the best times of life are when you have no plans – just go with it – seeing where the ebbs and flows of life carry you.

i’m excited to see where the year takes me.

my sister’s resolution for the new year is to try at least one new thing a month.  for january, i joined her in taking the polar bear plunge in the coeur d’alene lake.  the temperature outside was a warm 10 degrees when we took the plunge.  this photo was taken just after.

i like her resolution – i may have to take that one up myself.

i have three resolutions for the new year, and i’m afraid that i may have bit off a bit more than i could chew with these.  however, the way i figure it, i may as well go down swinging:

  • take better care of myself (lose weight, lower blood pressure…)
  • be honest (i struggle with this one more than most people know – i want so desperately for people to like me, that i tell them what i think they want to hear and not necessarily how i really feel about something)
  • create my own happiness (for far too long, i have blamed my dissatisfaction with life on other sources: other people, my current situations, etc.  i want to start taking responsibility for me and take those steps necessary to make myself happy)

how about for you?  what are some of your resolutions for 2011?

traveling mercies, always.
jdh

Leave a Reply

