confessing a fear

i’d by lying if i said that there wasn’t a small part of me that is nervous about the upcoming job change.

i’ve become very comfortable in my familiar (but unhappy) rut, thank you very much.

i know that i need change, a new direction, but i’m terrified to do it because there are so many unknowns.

i’m going from being a big fish in a relatively small pond to a small fish in a big ocean, and that scares me a little bit (ok, a lot a bit).

“a day at a time, a moment at a time” has been my mantra these past few days. i’m learning to not dwell on the mistakes of yesterday, nor worry about what may or may not happen in my tomorrows. “wherever you are, be all there”, someone once said. i’m starting to learn to do that, but it’s a slow process.

2 thoughts on “confessing a fear

  1. I have to say, I am TERRIFIED every time I take on a new role. I mean, every single stinking customer service job I took (and really every one of them was the same job, just different routine) scared me out of my mind.When I started at Starbucks I stepped back a bit, though, and realized that I’ve gotten through it every time. Just like you will.

Leave a Reply

