2 thoughts on “finding balance

  1. I like cash budgeting for that. I get the cash out every week for groceries and every month for discretionary spending. That way, if I want to spend my discretionary money (Gil and I each get the same amount) on a lunch, I can, and I don’t need to feel guilty about it! If I want to save it for a new toy, I don’t feel guilty for that either.

    About long-term saving I think you need a goal. Retiring with enough (you need to determine what “enough” is for you), and I STRONGLY believe in having 3-6 months of essential expenses in emergency funds (in case of job loss, temporary disability, etc).

    Decide what you want to do with your money. Tell IT where to go, instead of wondering where it went or how it got there. If you don’t want more stuff, think about what the money should be DOING. Paying off the mortgage? Funding a charity (starting your own, even)? Making way for a missions trip? Don’t be afraid to dream BIGGER than stuff with the money. Dave Ramsey says to “live [within your means] like no one else so you can LIVE like no one else and GIVE like no one else. “

  2. I hear you on the “not accumulating stuff” part. I enjoy buying experiences or a simple consumable item (a great filet mignon dinner out.). As for the saving $$$, “make” a purpose for it. Set a goal, achieve it, reward it…something small, you’ll appreciate it more. We’re so used to getting anything, anytime that we end up not appreciating stuff. Repeat the cycle, don’t just do it once…

Leave a Reply

