showing up

i need to write more.  simple as that.

i think i get too caught up in trying to find the right words, and in doing so end up writing nothing at all because the words don’t measure up to my standards which can never be met.  i compare myself to other people far too much for my own good.

with that in mind, for the next seven days (not counting this entry), i’m going to show up here and write something. (whether you choose to read it or not is up to you, i guess, but i’m going to show up anyway).  i will not worry about the quality or quantity. must.  repeat.  that: i will not worry about the quality or quantity.

i need to get back into the habit of showing up, of mentally checking in and investing in my craft.

traveling mercies,
jdh

3 thoughts on “showing up

  1. I’ve been thinking about this lately too…how I get too caught up in writing *perfectly* (according to my own, probably unreachable standards that I don’t even expect of anyone but myself…ridiculous, I know). It’s why I have these blogging feast-or-famine issues, I think.

    Tell you what. I’ll show up too. :)

  2. Pingback: Depend – a change of seasons « The Swift and Whimsy

Leave a Reply

