random sounds of lovely

while walking in to work this morning in downtown seattle, my ears caught a familiar sound from my formative years.

about a block away from where i was walking – at a streetcar station – was a man with his trumpet, case open to accept donations, playing that familiar hymn, “how great thou art”.

it was a beautiful rendition – a song i’d never heard on the trumpet – and it brought me back to my childhood, reminding me of the countless times sitting in the sanctuary where i had practically grown up (sunday mornings, sunday nights, and of course wednesday nights), next to my parents.

sure, i had pencil and paper in hand as i was drawing, but the very spirit of the songs, the chords, the words, sunk deep into my heart and never let go.

hearing just a few notes as i walked by brought me back over twenty years.  years of memories in mere footsteps.  remarkable.

i may not often sing those songs any more, but when i do, i find the words on the tip of my tongue. they are like a language that i haven’t spoken in quite some time, but a language that i never forgot.

then sings my soul
my savior, God, to thee
how great thou art
how great thou art
then sings my soul
my savior, God, to thee
how great thou art
how great thou art

traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

