running (or trying to, anyway)

i decided tonight that i was done making excuses. there’s a quarter-mile track across the street from my townhouse, for crying out loud.

so tonight i shoved all of the excuses my mind could think of out of the way, put on my running shorts and shoes and hit the track.

i only got in two miles, but it was two miles more than i’ve done in a long time.

i really need to get in the habit of taking better care of my body – it’s the only one i’ll get, after all.

while i was out on the track, the voices in my mind started speaking up, saying things like, “look how slow you’re going!”, “you’re being lapped by all these people!”, “what difference will this make?”.

all i could think about during the time on the track was something i’d read on pinterest a while back that said, “no matter how slow you go, you are still lapping everybody on the couch”.

my mind quickly went to my couch, where i thought how i could be sitting on my ass, watching soccer highlights from recent matches and enjoying a sweet treat, but i didn’t allow it to stay there – i reminded myself again that this is the only body i’ll get, so i’d better take care of it while i have use of it.

traveling mercies,
jdh

7 thoughts on “running (or trying to, anyway)

  1. Too funny. That Pinterest post was the first thing I thought of when you mentioned running slow. I know it’s not easy, but to be healthy and still be mobile in your latter years, it’s worth it. Make it a habit and it gets easier. Yes, I still dread working out some mornings, but it’s easier when you’ve been doing it and your body doesn’t get as sore. (Plus, I don’t know about you, but after some consistent workout schedules, my body feels 10x worse if I don’t work out, so it gives you its own motivation!) :-) Keep pluggin’ away!

    • that’s awesome that you thought of the same thing. :)

      i couldn’t believe how happy i felt after getting out for just a little bit to take some time to take care of me. i couldn’t help but feel happier.

  2. You rock! I’ve been working for the Y since Sep & haven’t started working out until this month (same mental state, I guess, as you had); I only did one week and then moved so I have to restart AGAIN, so I’m with you! It takes a lot of dedication to start a new habit, especially one that isn’t as comfortable, so good for you. I envy that you can run; keep it up the good work!

  3. Good for you, finding the motivation to get out there! Word has it that the dopamine you produce when running, makes it addictive and necessary in your life! I do hope that is the case for you my friend! Do it for yourself, do it for your lovely, do it to revere and respect and take care of the beautiful body God gave you. Is it a challenge-yes because you’re not used to it. I hope you can find the high in it enough to make you keep doing it! I wish I had done it 30 yrs ago when I was your age! Bless your body with using it to make yourself feel better-it really will in time!

    • i couldn’t help but feel better, both physically and mentally after getting out on the track for just a little bit. i think for the first time in quite a while, i felt peace and contentment – and it was wonderful.

      love you, friend…

Leave a Reply

