Help, Thanks, Wow

Anne Lamott has a book that came out not too long ago where she says that there is basically three kinds of prayers: “Help”, “Thanks”, and “Wow”.

I had a recent experience that lead me to all three prayers.

Just the other day, I was sitting in Lovely’s building waiting for her to get off from work.  Downstairs in her building is a Commons Room – complete with a television, pool table, and other recreational items.  Couches and chairs are scatted throughout the room, offering a little bit of R & R.

I sat down on one of the of most comfortable looking chairs in the room, and, unbeknownst to me, my keys slid out from my pocket.

Lovely came down a little while later and we went home.  I didn’t think much of it until later that night I realized that I truly didn’t have my keys on me (we have those remote access keys for our car so you don’t need to put a key into a traditional key slot on the car, hence why I didn’t notice sooner).

“Help!” I prayed, hoping that I would be able to find my keys somewhere on my person (no luck). “Help!” I prayed, asking that they would turn up, that some honest soul would find them and turn them in (wherever they might be). “Help!” I prayed, hoping that they didn’t fall out of my pockets on my 2 mile walk from my building to hers that afternoon.

I’m not sure what it was, the the “Help!” prayer helped me sleep that night – I didn’t really worry about my keys (which, if you know me, I’ve lost sleep over much less).

The next morning, we drove in to her office and went to the Commons Room.  There, someone had taken the keys and left them on the top of the chair where I had sat the night before.

“Thank You, Jesus!” I said, as I raised my arms in the air.

And then, “Wow!” – Isn’t it amazing that whoever found them left them there for me to find, and didn’t try to look for my car in the parking lot later that day.  “Wow!” When you think about all of the dishonest people out there, how was it that I got lucky and had someone trustworthy find them.

I’m still in awe over the whole situation.  I don’t have to worry about changing the remote access on my car; I don’t have to worry about changing the locks to my home.  I am so very thankful.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

2 thoughts on “Help, Thanks, Wow

Leave a Reply

