You – Just as You Are – Matter (& Make a Difference)

Teddy Roosevelt once said that “Comparison is the thief of joy” (& this quote is on a t-shirt of one of my all-time favorite bands).

For the longest time, I struggled with comparing myself with people I know.  I’d think things like,

“S is so much more intelligent than I will ever be.”

“J is an amazingly handy handyman. I’ll never be able to be as good as him at anything.”

“J knows everything about computers AND can install household appliances? What can I do?”

“C has a perfect marriage. Why am I struggling to make things work?”

“K is more well-read than I will ever be.  I feel absolutely intimidated whenever we talk about books we like.”

“J is such an amazing artist.  I’ve never seen her fail at any project.”

“N is one of the most talented writers I’ve ever met.  How can I possibly stack up to him in my writing?”

…on and on the list would go.  I would feel bad about myself, thinking that I had nothing I could offer anyone.

I’m not sure what happened, but somewhere along the line I emerged out of my cloud of comparison. I began to love who I am and what I bring to peoples’ lives.

Really knowing things like “I matter”, “I make a difference”, and “People love me, just as I am” started to sink in.

Finally coming to the place where I know that I make a difference allowed me the freedom to quit worrying about comparing myself to others.

Fact of the matter is that I’m damn good at a lot of things.  Sure, I may not be as good as person X in a specific area, but I don’t have to be.

Knowing that has given me freedom to enjoy life – to enjoy the moment – for what it is and as much as I personally can.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

Leave a Reply

