Book Q & A (Meme)

Book Q&A Rules
1. Post these rules
2. Post a photo of your favourite book cover
3. Answer the questions below
4. Tag a few people to answer them too
5. Go to their blog/twitter and tell them you’ve tagged them
6. Make sure you tell the person who tagged you that you’ve taken part!

Where the Sidewalk EndsFavourite book cover: A friend of mine said it best when she said “this is like lining up all my friends’ children and asking me to choose my favourite.”  Not only difficult, but painful.”  That said, how about I give a shout-out to a book cover that holds special significance to me?  That would be (without a doubt) Shel Silverstein’s Where The Sidewalk Ends.  I remember as a small child going over to my Aunt & Uncle’s house and browsing their bookshelves that were filled with more books than I had ever seen before at that point in my life.  On the lowest shelf rested a copy of Silverstein’s classic.  I would always reach for it to look at it’s many drawings, allowing myself to be transported to a magical place not only be the art, but by the words as well.

What are you reading now?
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
I Will Not Die an Unlived Life: Reclaiming Purpose and Passion by Dawna Markova
The Absolute Sandman, Volume 1 by Neil Gaiman

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that? 
I have a bad habit of always having a queue of books that I plan on reading next.  When someone suggests a book, I’m always quick to say that I’ll add it to my stack of “to-reads” and will get to it eventually (though I do have one friend that I’ll drop whatever I’m reading to read her suggestion). That said, next up is…well… I don’t know. *grin*

What five books have you always wanted to read but haven’t got round to?
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
19 Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol
The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

What magazines do you have in your bathroom/lounge right now?

A copy of Wired is usually in my bathroom.

What’s the worst book you ever read?
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain – go ahead, call me un-American. Call me a classic-hater. Call me whatever names you want, I just didn’t like this book.

What book seems really popular, but you didn’t like it? 
I’m going to confess something here. Promise me that you won’t mock me, think less of me, or otherwise unfriend me somewhere out in the internet universe.  I read Twilight.  I realize that the story wasn’t targeted to my sex or age demographic, but still, I didn’t like it. (Though there was one character – who you won’t be able to guess – in that story that I did rather enjoy…).  And no, don’t guess.

What are your three favourite poems?
“Wild Geese” by Mary Oliver
“The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost
“Puedo Escribir” by Pablo Neruda

Honourable mention to:
“Grandmother’s Old Armchair” by Unknown(?)

Where do you usually get your books? 
Local independent bookstores.  Even when I’m traveling, I look for, and shop, Indie.

When you were little, did you have any particular reading habits?
Anything Curious George or TinTin.

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was too good to put down?
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Have you ever “faked” reading a book?
Can I plead the fifth here? Actually, I’ll confess to doing that with Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Have you ever bought a book just because you liked the cover?
Can’t say that I have, no.

What was your favourite book when you were a child?
(See favourite cover question above)

What book changed your life?
The Gifts of Imperfection by Brené Brown.  It took me thirty-plus years to realize that it’s okay for me to be me, and that I do not have to be perfect while being me.  To say this book changed my life is an understatement.

What is your favourite passage from a book?
“You do not have to be good. You do not have to walk on your knees for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting. You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves.” – First lines of Mary Oliver’s poem, “Wild Geese”

Who are your top five favourite authors?
Brené Brown
Neil Gaiman
Rainer Maria Rilke
Anne Lamott
Gregory David Roberts

What book has no one heard about but should read?
See the above: “What book changed your life?”  Get it, read it, NOW.

Honourable mention to:
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott

What books are you an ‘evangelist’ for?
Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
The Gifts of Imperfection by Brené Brown

What are your favourite books by a first time author?
Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

What is your favourite classic book?
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – read the first paragraph (because it’s a classic) and then skip the rest of the first chapter.  Stick with the book, the ending will stick with you the rest of your life.

Five other notable mentions?
Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Rilke’s Book of Hours: Love Poems to God by Rainer Maria Rilke

Tagging: I’m not one for peer-pressure.  The last thing I want to do is make someone think that they *have* to do something.  That said, if this has inspired you, consider this your shove in the right direction (& if not, I hope you enjoyed reading).

4 thoughts on “Book Q & A (Meme)

  1. I found your blog and answers to this meme via Cate @ boxesofpaper.com. Great answers! I enjoyed reading them. I’m very much curious about Brené Brown’s work seeing as you and Cate have mentioned the author.

    The first and last lines of A Tale of Two Cities is just amazing <3

    • Welcome! I had the privilege of meeting Cate in person this past April – she’s a gem, isn’t she? :)

      If you get the chance, definitely check out Brown’s work – I don’t think you’d regret it. (I still have to read Cate’s suggestion of her work – it’s on my queue!)

      Thanks for stopping by. :)

Leave a Reply

