2/3rds of the Way Finished With My OYAP

I completed a half marathon yesterday.

It still sounds so very strange to say that after having had that item on my bucket list for quite some time now.

Truth be told, I’m proud of myself.  My end goal was just to finish the thirteen point one miles that constitutes a half, and I was able to do that.  A few people asked me for a specific time goal I had, and when all was said and done, I was able to beat my time goal by about twenty two minutes.

I swear that those final miles felt as though there were further in between.

Completing a half marathon was part of my OYAP, or as it is officially known, my One Year Action Plan.

For far too long, I’ve been someone who finds it easier to talk about doing something as opposed to actually going out there and doing it.  My bucket list was getting longer, while I was not even beginning to scratch things off the list that was continually growing.

Last September after talking with different friends, I decided to put three things on my OYAP, giving myself until October 1st, 2014 to complete the following:

  • Complete NaNoWriMo in November of 2013 (Done! – November 2013)
  • Train for and complete a half marathon (Done! – April 27th, 2014)
  • Read The Lord of the Rings

Two down, one to go.

I’m thinking of adding a stretch goal to my original action plan, something else that I can work towards before October first rolls around.  Of course, come October first, I will want to begin a new OYAP, with three new items on the list for the next round of goals.

Traveling mercies,
jdh

3 thoughts on “2/3rds of the Way Finished With My OYAP

  1. Love this idea, and number three will be supremely enjoyable! :) After taking me to the first film, Amy & Derek said I needed to read the books before the next corresponding movie came out. One of the best requirements a friend ever made of me! :) Even read The Hobbit (a much quicker read, if you haven’t read it yet). May be about time to do them all again…

Leave a Reply

